Edit Permissions

Copying permissions

Copy settings to another permissions item

Individual permission settings can be copied within the list by simply dragging the onto another permissions item.

Simply mouse over a permission setting and a green "plus" icon will appear:

copystuff.jpg

 

Drag the permission to another item in the list and release. You can add the copied settings to any item.

 

copystuff2.jpg


Copy all permissions to another page

Permissions can also be copied and pasted from one Permissions page to another. At the end of the list of permissions items, locate the "Copy" button and click it to copy all the permissions for the current page:

 

permissions_copy.jpg

 

Navigate to the page you want to apply the permissions to, view its permissions and go to the botton of the list. You'll now see a second button. Click Paste to apply all the permissions you copied from the first page to the current page.

 

copy_perms_paste.jpg

Permissions may be edited by clicking on the name of the permission in the list on any page set to assign permissions manually.

Screen_Shot_2014-10-15_at_4.46.08_PM.png

Including and Excluding

Access Entities are the users, groups and combinations that you want this permission to apply to. Upon clicking a permission's link, you'll see a list of access entities currently selected for this permission. 

Each access entity is added under Included or Excluded, thereby allowing or denying the entities from accessing this particular permission:

Screen_Shot_2014-10-15_at_4.48.54_PM.png

Click the Add button to show the Add Access Entity dialog. To add an entity, click the Select dropdown menu, and then choose from GroupUserGroup SetGroup Combination, or Page Owner.

In the example above we've granted access for any users in the Editors or Contributors groups. We've also specifically excluded an individual user named "intern" from being able to access this permissions item (View Versions). When inspecting a page's Permissions, excluded access entities appear in red.

Tip: Exclusion overrides inclusion

It's important to note that in the example above, "intern" won't be able to access this permissions item, even if ther user is a member of the groups which have been granted access.

Entity Types

Each type of entity can be included or excluded in a permission.

User

These entities are the individual user accounts set up in your site.

Group

The permission can also be applied to a specific group of users (as defined by Dashboard > Members > Groups). The permission will apply to all members of the group.

Group Set

Group Sets are used to gather separate groups into a single entity. Group sets are defined at Dashboard > Members > Group Sets. A user will have access to this permission item if they are a member of any group in the set.

There are two additional permissions-related options:

Group Combination

Includes members of two or more groups who belong to all of the groups. For example, if Group A contains User 1, and Group B contains User 1 and User 2, only User 1 will be included when Group A and Group B are used in a Group Combination.

Page Owner

This allows the setting of permission to the user who is currently set as the owner of the page.

Loading Conversation